fbpx

Preparing to take the plunge… *update 7/8*

Home Forums Windstone Editions Paint-Your-Own Windstone Preparing to take the plunge… *update 7/8*

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    Lauren
    Participant

Alright. So, I think I’ve finally decided, I’m ready to try my hand at this. Dick Blick’s got some art stuff in stock and on sale, and I have the money, so I think it’s time. But, I’m still dithering on what to actually buy as far as acrylic paints go.

I’m not an entire newbie to painting. I’ve done pottery glazing (high school and earlier), water colors (mostly college) and oil painting (mostly high school). I would not go so far as to say I’m highly skilled, but I understand the basics/am not a complete newbie. I’ve also done work with acrylics in high school and elementary, but it’s been *years* since I’ve done pyo with ceramics (not since elementary or middle school or so).

I would much rather invest in a higher grade of paint even though I’m getting my feet wet and don’t know if I will like this (though I suspect I will). So I’m wondering for someone with my background, do any of you guys have recommendations for which brand / body to work with, since acrylic comes in anything from high flow fluid to heavy body? I know Jennifer recommended the Golden Fluid acrylics for more experienced users, but everyone seems to have their own personal preference for what they like to work with best and I really don’t know if I qualify as “experienced.”

Melissa
      Participant

I took Jennifer’s recommendation for the Golden fluid acrylics, and I’m not that experienced a painter, but I really like how they work. They are super-concentrated so I recommend the GAC 100 and GAC 200 to thin them, and they dry lightning fast, so I recommend the retarder to extend the working time.