Your Favorite PYO Paints (non-airbrush)

Home Forums Windstone Editions Paint-Your-Own Windstone Your Favorite PYO Paints (non-airbrush)

Tagged: 

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Angie
    Participant

Hello,
      My name is Angie and I’m very new to the Windstone world (though I remember drooling over Melody’s dragons as a child in the Crystal Realm of my local mall!).
      Anyway, I’m getting reading to tackle my first couple PYO and I’m not sure what paints I should be using- does anyone have suggestions? I’m particularly drawn to paints that allow for color mixing, and paints I can find at my local shops (Dick Blick, Hobby Lobby, JoAnn, Michaels).
      I hope it’s ok to add a new thread, I was looking for an old one to no avail!

Angela

etruscan
      Participant

The old threads tend to get buried, so starting a new one is fine! I did find this topic from about a year ago. It has some helpful tips, and I’m sure the PYO artists will add more. 🙂

Gonna try to paint my own first timer!!!

etruscan
        Participant

This thread also looks helpful with tips for things like blending:

Painting a PYO

Mika
          Participant

Glad to see someone new taking on the PYO’s! I’m interested in seeing what you come up with!

For paints, here are ones I regularly use and recommend:
            – Golden. This is my default and favorite to use. Except for the white. I use Folkart or Americana brand white paint.

– Decoart
            – Folkart
            – Americana
            (I think the above three are made by the same company. There are a lot of interesting specialty paints between them like Enchanted, Color Shift, Dragonfly, Brushed Metal, Glow in the dark, and a slew of different varnishes)

– Martha Stewart. You’re paying a bit more for the brand but the paint is very good quality. I’ve gotten quite a few when they were on sale or clearance at Michaels.

– Craftsmart Premium. Very good quality, great price, and lots of variety.