fbpx

Question about Using Inks/Stains

Home Forums Windstone Editions Paint-Your-Own Windstone Question about Using Inks/Stains

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Prezaurian
    Participant

Well, this is my first time asking a PYO question on the forum. So here goes. I recently spotted Distress Ink Stains in my local JoAnn’s store and was wondering if anyone has had any experience using dyes/inks to stain a PYO piece? The inks are alcohol based and meant for porous surfaces. Think it has a shot at working? The idea is really appealing to me, but I don’t want to waste a PYO if it has no chance at turning out. Any advice or sharing of experiences would be really appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Hey I have stained with archival calligraphy inks, but mine are water based. I am not sure how different the alcohol based ones are but here are some general tips I have:

1.) All pieces absorb inks and stains differently. Some spots will suck it right up, and others will need a bit more the achieve darker tones.

2.) Start a little at a time. More ink = darker color. And GO SLOW, once its on, its not coming off and cannot be repaired by just adding a new layer/color as paint often can. Patience is key. Try to allow layers to dry completely, so you don’t water-log the poor thing. Doing so can help prevent details of the piece from wearing from the liquid.

3.) If using water based ink, DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT use a water based brush on varnish such as acrylic. Use a spray, and in very thin layers. The alternative will have a bleaching affect.

4.) Remember that as the piece sucks up the medium (ex. alcohol, water, etc.) It leaves the ink/ tea pigment on the surface. This means constant handling can fade and remove any un-protected pigment as you are working. Just something to keep in mind.