fbpx

Purpledoggy's Leather Dog Collars

Home Forums Miscellany General Art Discussion Purpledoggy's Leather Dog Collars

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Laurie
    Participant

Laurie
      Participant

Since I love to have a million different collars for my dog Sid (she needs to look stylish you know) I’ve taken to making my own collars. I’m pretty new to leatherworking and I’ve only made two collars atm but I figured I would share my creations with you. Right now I’m using rivets to hold the hardware in place but I want to learn how to hand sew leather since if you don’t hit the rivet just right it will bend and you have to pull it out and start all over again. I also need to work on finishing the edges of the leather since I don’t like the frayed look I end up getting. I’m going to get some beeswax this afternoon and try to clean up the edges a bit. Here are the two collars I’ve made so far…..

This is the first collar I made which no longer fits Sid since she was much younger when I made it. Its made from 1 1/2 inch leather with a 1 inch strip down the middle. I put three celtic heart conchos on it and its tapered down to once inch since the buckle I had was only for a one inch strip of leather. Of course I can’t find a pic of her wearing this collar even though I know I have one

This collar I just made last night out of 1 1/2 inch leather. It has 10 one inch spikes and a broken heart with wings on it. My husband wanted her to have a spiked collar so I made her one. She will only wear this when out on walks, I’m not fond of spiked collars being on dogs for long periods of time since I’m afraid someone could get hurt by them lol.