fbpx

Polymer Dragon Project

Home Forums Miscellany General Art Discussion Polymer Dragon Project

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Hannah
    Participant

I got some Super Sculpey in the mail the other day and I decided I would take a test run in making a dragon! I’ve never done one of these before, the most I’ve done with polymer clay before has been with Fimo to make my little Devil Squirrels, but I couldn’t resist trying to make something more complex once I’d seen some of the awesome art that people on here have managed.

This guy is unbaked in these pictures, and I will likely be building up his back leg a bit more – you can see it best in the first picture, and in the rest it gets a little lost, but I’m pretty happy with him so far! I’ll likely be finishing him up tomorrow and baking him, then starting to paint him tomorrow as well.

I used metal wire to make a skeleton, then added some tinfoil for bulk, and then layers of sculpey on top to give him detail. The eyes may look familiar, because they are a pair of extras that I have of the 8mm (AKA small dragon, kirin and griffin size) – I went nuts at a taxidermy place and I figured any extra could be used with sculpey experimenting. Here’s hoping that they take heat fine (I assume they will since they are glass).

Anyway.. here he is. Don’t scream! Right now he looks like one of those cats who doesn’t have hair… or maybe a monster from one of the Alien movies…

Oh! I also have a question for anyone who uses Super Sculpey – it came to me in a box that had no plastic around it, in a padded envelope. Is it the type of clay that never dries out, or should I put it in a sealed plastic bag for storage? This guy is in a plastic bag for tonight because I didn’t want to take any chances, but it seemed strange that they would package and send sculpey without shrink wrapping it or something :scratch:

Commission spots are currently closed! Please message me for details.