My Paint Your Own has arrived! Any advice welcome.

Home Forums Windstone Editions Paint-Your-Own Windstone My Paint Your Own has arrived! Any advice welcome.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Stormbreeze
    Participant

I just got a paint your own! Super excited! I chose the kitty griffin because it looks really cute. Although I’m no professional artist, I think I might do okay. Any advice is welcome, though! I would love a few extra tips and tricks.

I do have a question: Should I buy mixing medium to thin my Liquitex Basics acrylic, or will water do the trick? If I buy mixing medium, is there a particular brand to get?

I know there’s a products list out there but I think this question is a little specific. There are a lot of experienced painters on this forum and I hope they don’t mind me asking a little help πŸ˜‰

Well, wish me luck!

[i]Keeping an eye out for fantasy gryphons and test paint dragons.[/i]

SPark
      Participant

I find that so long as you’re only thinning it a little bit, water works just fine. If you’re thinning it a lot, I’d go for the medium. Although I don’t use the liquitex, so I have no mental image of how thick they are to begin with. I work mostly with brands that already come pretty thin.

Amstaff
        Participant

I use liquitex basics acrylic paints as well, and it is quite thick. I would recommend Golden GAC-100, Multi-purpose Acrylic Polymer, as a mixing medium. I find it works great ! I was told one shouldnt use water as it may eventually cause the paint to flake when the piece becomes older. But its your choice in the end πŸ˜‰ Im only a beginner myself πŸ™‚

Kim
          Blocked