Is your "Wolf-Dog" really a Wolf Dog? How to tell :)

Home Forums Miscellany Community Is your "Wolf-Dog" really a Wolf Dog? How to tell :)

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 41 total)
  • Author
    JynXx
    Participant

My boyfriend shared this post with me from his Forums, and I thought it was interesting enough to re-post here. First, I’ll start with a key on how to read this post. Green, is obviously me. There are two posters in the text below, Blue is the person re-posting another’s for reference to their own post, and Purple is from the source post. Now, here we go!

I initially typed a huge post of my own up, but I think another person did it better than I could. So I will start with that and add to it:

I’d like to teach you guys a little bit about wolf hybrids.

First, why should you listen to me? Without going into too much detail, I’ve been a professional animal trainer for the past 10 years, working with domestic, exotic, and native animals including wolves. I’ve worked to educate the public about the plight of native animals and their habitat, and also encountered a lot of general ignorance about wolves (and hybrids). I’ve worked with a variety of individuals from several subspecies of wolf.

(Note: when I talk about hybrids below I’m referring to mid- to high- content, meaning 25% wolf and above, as below that it’s often difficult to tell wolf heritage without directly interacting with the animal.

Also please note that the more correct term is “wolf dog”, although I’m using the term “hybrid” here as it’s used more commonly and is the term used in legal documents and laws. Technically, because dogs are a subspecies of wolf, a cross of the two isn’t a true hybrid in the way that a mule or liger is.)

Can you pick out the hybrids below?

Trick question suckas! None of these is a hybrid. Most of what people claim to be”hybrids” aren’t hybrids. So why do people think their dog is a hybrids when it’s not? There are three main reasons: