Guardian Dragon fixer upper

Home Forums Windstone Editions Repairs Guardian Dragon fixer upper

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Garwolf
    Participant

My regular guardian dragon sadly got part of his wing shattered(glue is no longer an option) and a couple of small buffs in his paint. I bought him used but had a incident on the way home also. I haven’t done any fix ups before so I was wondering about what paints and coating are best for the stone look and type of sculpey people use? Although I may just paint him a little and be done with it.

Melody
      Keymaster

I have had success using Apoxie sculpt (or clay) rather than Sculpey, but I am not as experienced as others are about fixing things!

You will need Cream, Autumn brown, acrylic paint, and deep brown to antique the areas to match the color.

Nightcrow
        Participant

I’m not a pro, but Apoxie Sculpt is what I’ve used for the three Lap Dragons and the Pebble I’ve repaired, and it works great!  Pretty easy to use, and takes paint nicely once it’s dry.

Interested in buying or trading for: GB Pebble Sitting Red Fox in dark grey, Lap Dragon Test Paints (Water Sprite, Glacial Pearl, Opulence, Pastel Rainbow, and many others - see my Classifieds ad), Blue Morpho OW, GB Pebble Loaf dragons in blue/aqua/teal, and Griffin Test Paints (Black Rainbow or Frosted Jade).

pipsxlch
          Participant

I think most of the recommendations are for Apoxie sculpt, but some use Sculpey. I don’t know which flavor. I repaired several smallish areas on a stone finish sculpt once; it was the regular Sculpey and worked well (have also used it on regular sculpts). I used a lighter to harden it instead of baking the whole thing. I used several shades of Golden brand (don’t think brand will matter) browns/greys/cream(don’t remember exact shades), antiqued it with number, and it came out great. Over all I used a light coat of satin clearcoat. I’m sure yours will come out great also!

Garwolf