fbpx

Anyone on here deal with puppies and young kids?

Home Forums Miscellany Community Anyone on here deal with puppies and young kids?

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Laurie
    Participant

Laurie
      Participant

We have been thinking of adopting a dog and Danny wants to get a puppy since he thinks it will be easier to train. He says its easier to mold a puppy then it is an adult dog. We had a puppy play date with a dog that is in foster care and he did very well with Alyssa and our cat. He did want to play with Alyssa and I know that she will get pounced so I’m looking for advice on how to deal with that. What should I train the puppy to do/not do? I plan on taking whatever dog we get to obedience training and get their canine good citizen but I’m looking for advice from others who have raised both puppies and young children together. I’ve raised two puppies before so I have some experience just not with puppies and kids at the same time lol.

Katherine
        Participant

I don’t know, puppies (depending on the pup) can either be hard to train, or easy to train. The puppies have exceptionally sharp nails and teeth, and I know your expecting a puppy to pounce on Alyssa, but I don’t know about those sharp claws and such. As for training, you really need to establish Alyssa as the “alpha” of your pack, and you might want to research how, but I follow Caesar Millan’s advice from the Dog Whisperer show. Puppies just want to chew and pounce and play, so be careful because I don’t want something to happen to Alyssa, and then she becomes afraid of dogs.

siberakh1
          Participant

We had one of our dogs (passed on now) that was around from the time I was in third grade, plus we’ve had either a child my mom used to babysit during the day and my nephews. Depends on what you want out of the dog. For a just all around companion/pet, basic obedience :

– sit
            – lay down
            – stay/halt