My “First” Sculpture

Home Forums Miscellany Community My “First” Sculpture

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 36 total)
  • Author
    Dragoneer_88
    Participant

Technically, I have made “sculptures” in school…the usual clay pot and bowl kind of things you always have to do in art class. This is my first figure sculpture. Sculpting is still an unfamiliar craft for me and I’m still learning. I was trying to make it look like hammered copper. It’s about 4 1/4” diameter.

I can’t seem to get a color accurate picture.

Prezaurian
      Participant

This is great for your first figure!  It is very coppery and looks very much like what you were going for.  The color, is that the color of the clay or did you paint it?

StormDancer
        Participant

It looks great. I Like the hammered copper look.

Looking for:
          "COSMIC SHIFT DRAGONS and KI-RINS" and the "OCTOPUS TANUKI TEST PAINT #1"

Celestial Rainstorm
          Participant

Now that looks lovely! I love the texture of the piece.

Finding happiness again.

Dragoneer_88
            Participant

It’s painted clay. I used Plaid Folk Art metallic acrylic paints. If metallic clay exists, that would be awesome and I’d want!

Thanks for the compliments everyone!

Zexious
              Participant

Really cool medallion, dragoneer! Very Game of Thrones-esque! <3

Dragoneer_88
                Participant

Well, so there is such a thing as metallic clay. Shows how much I know! Haha!

In light of recent events…I needed a distraction and made a second sculpture. I think I work better in 3-D. Naming this one a “desert canyon drake.” Any critiques? It’s made with super sculpey original and medium. I haven’t baked it yet so I can still make changes. I haven’t decided on a paint scheme.

StormDancer
                  Participant

I think it looks fantastic.

Looking for:
                    "COSMIC SHIFT DRAGONS and KI-RINS" and the "OCTOPUS TANUKI TEST PAINT #1"

bayoudragon
                    Participant