fbpx

Moving (again) and other random stuff

Home Forums Miscellany Community Moving (again) and other random stuff

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 36 total)
  • Author
    Tyrrlin
    Participant

As some of you may know, I used to be Active Duty military, then two years ago I left Active service (and joined the National Guard) to attend college (again). This December, I graduated with my AAS in Band Instrument Repair Technology, and managed to snag a job in Fredericksburg, VA the week after graduating. The next day I found an apartment and drove back to my parents’ home in Pa to finish celebrating the holidays. This is all to the good.

However, now I’m running around like a chicken with my head cut off to coordinate moving my stuff from Sioux City to Fredericksburg, as well as taking a load down in my car from Scranton, Pa. Tomorrow I fly back to Iowa to start the monumental task of pre-packing as much of my crap, err, belongings as possible (including a rather respectable collection of Windstones). All this upheaval has me underlyingly anxious, for obvious reasons. Recently, I’ve had several “life changes.” (moving, job change, major relationship change, major family event, etc.) Most people can handle maybe 1-3 in a year. In just the past six months… suicide of a friend, two deaths in the family (one completely unexpected and was the son of the “expected” one), graduating college, finding a job, moving, (hopefully) changing National Guard units…. *sighs* It’s been a very tough few months. Moving is *expensive* and I hope I’ve over-estimated the weight of my crap, err, stuff enough to have a pleasant surprise for once.

Now, based on symptoms I’ve developed in the past two weeks or so, Mom (a nurse) thinks I may have an ulcer (again). *sighs* It never ends. (Of course, one of the good things about having a constantly hurting stomach is I’ve lost five pounds since coming home for Xmas….)