fbpx

Jewels on keeper dragons

Home Forums Windstone Editions Paint-Your-Own Windstone Jewels on keeper dragons

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Phoegonix
    Participant

I just ordered my first PYOs, but I’m an experienced miniature painter from my wargaming days. I’m really excited about painting in this scale. My statute should be here on Thursday, I am very excited to get started!

My question is this: has anyone added extra jewels to the keeper dragon? I looked around and haven’t seen any for sure, but I’m hoping to paint him like a starry sky, so I would love to add some “stars” to the statue.

Prezaurian
      Participant

Hm. I have not added any extra jewels to a Keeper, though it sounds like a really cool idea. And I don’t think I’ve seen any Keepers that anyone else has tried that with either. Where are you planning on adding the jewels? In between scales, on top of scales, on wings? It sounds like a neat idea. Would love to see photos after you’re done!

Edit: Also, starting out on minis and then moving on to one of these guys? I’m really interested to see your Keeper! When I changed how I painted these guys I went off of miniature painting guides…so my curiosity level is maxed out now!

Phoegonix
        Participant

I think I want to use the very tiny (~1mm) rhinestones, and I want to put them on the small scaled areas. The legs, the tops of the wings, the chest…I may have to “carve” a place for them to go. I really want to give the impression of a starry night sky.

etruscan
          Participant

I’m sure that someone did this on a small PYO dragon (still looking for photos)…

The idea was discussed back in 2013 and Melody seemed OK with it:
            http://windstoneeditions.com/forum/how-much-too-much