The Only Thing I Can Make… drag0n's Cornchowder

Home Forums Miscellany Food The Only Thing I Can Make… drag0n's Cornchowder

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    drag0nfeathers
    Participant

So… I am a terrible cook. Always have been. I don’t know why. I’m Italian… I should have marinara running through my veins but even though I may… it doesn’t help me cook.

But there is one thing I can make… and it’s corn chowder… I know… random right?

Anyway… it’s actually really damn good so here’s my completely half-assed recipe. Nothing has to be perfect here (this is probably why I can make it)

What you will need

2 – 3 cans of creamed corn
      1 big white onion
      a bag of gold or white potatoes
      a pack of bacon
      a package of sharp cheese (I usually use those cracker barrel ones)
      1 pint of heavy cream
      Italian seasoning (oregano, basil, dill, that kind of stuff)

optional, a couple scallions

So 1st get a package of bacon. Whatever kind of bacon you want. I use the cheap stuff just cause you’re gonna fry it up to a crisp anyway.

So get a pot, yes a pot. I big old soup pot and cook your bacon in that. Fry it up piece by piece so it’s super crispy and not all clear and fatty anymore. Take them out bit by bit and set them aside on some paper towel until you have cooked ALL of said bacon. Do your best not to eat half of it as you go along. I usually fail here.

So after you do that you have a pot full of bacon grease, perfect.

Chop up the giant onion, mince if you like, and throw that in the hot grease and brown it up a bit. (scallion as well if you want, but it’s not needed) Once that is cooking you’re gonna want do a lazy peel on 6 – 8 potatoes, wash and chop those up as well. Add about 2 to 3 coups of water to your onions and add the potatoes in.

Let that cook covered, until the potatoes are almost done. Maybe 8 – 10 minutes stirring up occasionally.