fbpx

Question about airbrushes!

Home Forums Windstone Editions Ask Melody Question about airbrushes!

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

I asked Santa for a new airbrush for Xmas, I need advice on a good one. I would like one that you can load the paint from the top like I see you use. What would you recommend? Thanks!

Kyrin

Melody
    Keymaster

I asked Santa for a new airbrush for Xmas, I need advice on a good one. I would like one that you can load the paint from the top like I see you use. What would you recommend? Thanks!

Kyrin

Since we have used the same airbrushes for, like, 25 years, I am not an expert about the brands that are currently out there! I always recommend Iwatas. They are very precisely machined and seem to work really well, but I bet there are other brands available today that are just as good.
      Get a model with a removable side cup. The top-cup ones are usually for very very fine work with dyes or water colors. These tiny aperture airbrushes won’t spray pigment very well.
      The bottom-jar kind allow you to switch colors, so don’t rule them out, though I have only used those for dyes, not pigmented paint. I don’t think they would work too well with acrylic paint, but who knows, maybe they would be fine.

You will also need to ask Santa for an air supply and a way to dry the air as it comes through the hose.

Anybody have any suggestions? Have you used a bottom cup model with acrylics?

Sikek
      Participant

I use an iwata too, but it’s the only brand I’ve owned so I can’t compare. It’s a bottom feed that I use with acrylics fine with, it’s not so good on particular angles though where the paint can’t get sucked up efficiently.
        I’m guessing some gravity feeds are capped? I think the gravity feed is better but I never got one because I use to tilt too much and spill the paint everywhere. I don’t really know that much about airbrushes nor do I use mine as often as I should.