PYO Keeper Mockups!

Home Forums Windstone Editions Paint-Your-Own Windstone PYO Keeper Mockups!

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    KingBeast
    Participant

Hey guys! I’m planning on picking up a few pyo keepers or the smaller dragons when they drop back in the shop again- and I’ve gotten the itch to mock up a few design ideas in PS. Generally looking to share them, but if ya’ll have any advice, crits, tips or techniques to share I’m more than welcome for them. I’m no newbie to art (graduated with six years of it lmfao) so I definitely know the basic rundown and technical skills, I’ve just never tackled any PYO’s before!

Pearl
      Tropidelight
      Blight

Also, does anyone have any idea where to get horror eyes in 11 mm? I can find them in 10. I can find them in 12. I cannot find them in 11.

Absolute Godtier wishlist
      Contusion Male Dragon painted by Brandi Wise
      Bantam Kickstarter dragon #102, "Alien", red/black colors with black eyes. Clone is fine. If you get one and want to get rid of it, PLEASE message me.

tig3r06
      Participant

Dreaming Tree Studio for eyes. She’s great!
        http://www.dreamingtreestudio.com/

Bodine
        Participant

Those are nice.Love the 3rd one.

Every act matters.No matter how small💞
          (Wanted......Brimstone Lap)
          Male Hearth....one day🤞Dream on.

Mika
          Participant

Little basic tips for painting…

Use good quality paint on them – sometimes the really cheap stuff won’t even really stick to the gypsum. Oil paints are about the only type of paint that isn’t recommended for them; it doesn’t “breathe” with the gypsum iirc.

Varnishing before antiquing works well since it’s pretty easy to rub the bottom layer of paint off the edge of the scales.

The first mock-up is really nice; I like the soft pastel look of it.

pipsxlch
            Participant