fbpx

New About this Place

Home Forums Miscellany Introductory and Welcoming Area New About this Place

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Featherwurm
    Participant

Hi all, I’m pleased to be joining this group of nice folk! I can be sort of hesitant posting so I undoubtedly will end up rather quiet, though I’ll try my best.

In Short:

I’m a pacific northwest artist with a background in theater. Like a lot of folks here, I’ve loved Windstone for many years, though with a limited budget I don’t have much of a collection. Now that I’m out on my own with my own income, I’m thinking of indulging a bit, and looking forward to trying some PYOs!

In Long:

When I was a kid, my parents (who are both architects) were on the California State Board of Architecture and responsible for giving the licensing exams for new Architects. Because of this, we frequently took weekend trips to various parts of California where the exams were being given. At about 8 or so we took a trip to Monterrey and there in one of the many tourist-y shops on the pier were a collection of gorgeous dragons, unicorns, and gryphons. I fell in love with the shining colors, intricate details, subtle expressions, and overall charm and weight of M. Pena’s creations. Unfortunately, such things were far out of our budget, and I never was able to own any of the lovely creatures then, still though, every trip to a Windstone dealer meant a long time gazing over each little detail of the various beautiful things.

Now that’ I’m older I do have some nice Windstone pieces around. I own an adorable little Siamese pointed bird-winged flapcat with iridescent purple wings. My housemate has a beautiful rainbow mother dragon and a charming little orange-and-white lady cat. The mother has taken a little damage over the years (she’s at least 9 years old now, and has a few dings about the horns and tail) and we’re considering repairing her.