fbpx

I got to play with a professional orchestra! Woot!!

Home Forums Miscellany Community I got to play with a professional orchestra! Woot!!

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Tethra
    Participant

Hi everyone! I haven’t been on much lately because I got to play in THE most awesome gig. I am a flute player and I am near professional standard (I still have a lot to learn before I get there, and so much practice to do…) but I work as a music teacher so I am not performing to earn my money.

So, I was SOOOOO excited when the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra (our main pro orchestra in Victoria, Australia) offered some of us community musos a chance to do a concert with them! It was HUGE!! It ended up being nearly a 150 piece orchestra so lets just say the 1812 Overture was massive! As far as the MSO’s Principal Flute knows, this initiative hasn’t been done anywhere else, so this could be a world first as well!

Being given the chance to learn from and perform with this caliber of musician was amazing. I have looked up to the lady that plays Principal Flute since high school and she has been in the job since before I was born, so she is an absolutely amazing player. I was very nervous about meeting her let alone PLAYING next to her, but she is the most lovely lady and put me at ease pretty quickly.

I also got to play piccolo and was the only amateur to do so. For those that don’t know what a piccolo is, it is a small flute (about half the size of a normal flute), but it is LOUD. So I couldn’t hide. At all. THAT was scary!!! The Principal Piccolo player of the MSO played with me and he has a great sense of humour and also put me at ease. It was the best fun ever being able to actually play out on picc and not have to worry about volume (I normally play with a small orchestra so I have to keep the picc under control).