fbpx

Help with Pearl Ex Powders

Home Forums Miscellany Help & Feedback Help with Pearl Ex Powders

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Diana L
    Participant

Diana L
      Participant

Need some help with how to use Pearl Ex Powder pigments..I have wanted to try them out for a while and read what info was in the package and am still confused. Since I am new to this is there anyone who could explain what to do with them….mixing etc? Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

Anonymous

Hello Dragoncastle

I am new to useing Pearl ex powders aswell, but from what I can tell… and have learned they can be mixed with any media to give the paint a metallic look.
          and I have tried them in an airbrush with no problems. ๐Ÿ™‚

Diana L
          Participant

Thanks Kalandra,
            I’m going to try mixing them with the same medium that I use with the Golden paints and see what I can come up with…a new adventure is fun anyway. Diana ๐Ÿ™‚

Jasmine
            Participant

If you want to brush them directly on to your PYO, I suggest you use something to make the statue slightly tacky. That way the power will adhere and won’t just blow off or rub off if you touch it. I have used Testors Spray Lacquer but I’ve actually found a cheap solution to be hairspray.

I mix them with my Golden Medium (whatever it’s called, GAC?). Though the tacky idea is a good one, it would create a different effect (and probably a much less subtle one).

siberakh1
              Participant

Pearl Ex powders are fun! You can use Pearl Ex powders several ways.

1) I’ve mixed them into paints. Just put a little bit on the side of your palette. Depending on the color effect you want, a little can really be all you need. ๐Ÿ™‚

2) I’ve mixed them with a clear medium, as mentioned by Dragon87. Golden puts out several (gloss, matte, etc.).