fbpx

Dry Brushing Details

Home Forums Windstone Editions Paint-Your-Own Windstone Dry Brushing Details

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author

I know there’s stuff about how to antique and dry brush. I’m not very good at finding stuff, I’m actually not sure how to search so I just flipped through old postings. I have the Windstone article open, and I’ve read it about 4 times in the last 2 minuets. But, alas, this is my first time trying, and my horse’s neck keeps looking muddy.

I’m doing 2 Unicorns, both pinto’s, first time I’ve ever hand painted anything. I’m sure I”m doing something very wrong. I just wanted to get that effect where the top of the hiar is lighter than by the skin, but instead I’m loosing some of the layers of paint when I carefully remove the (thinned paint I’m using to antique).

So, do I need to seal the finish first? Is the paint I’m applying too thin? It did say use thick paint, and when I tried to brush that off, the horse looked scratched.

Thanks! πŸ˜€

Andrea
    Participant

I would suggest not thinning the paint at all.
      I’ve found drybushing works best with thicker paint in very very tiny amounts.
      The brush size and shape also matters.
      Stiffer bristles and a flatter tipped brush work best for me. Soft touches as well.
      Good luck!

Before you start drybrushing, be sure you have almost no paint on that brush. I haven’t done any PYOs yet, but I used to love to paint ceramic dragons to be sold at ren faires. I would just barely dip into the unthinned paint, and wipe on a paper towel until I could barely see any color still coming off the brush. Keep brushing over the area until you have the effect you like, or go over it again with just a touch more paint if it isn’t enough.